Reflection of inspirations and discipline (1)

First of all I need to mention that this is about my work experience that I pursued for two weeks in February of 2008, at The Isle of Thanet Gazette, Thanet.

Two weeks, sat in an office with the other members of the newspaper team, only four plus the photographer and myself, getting into the nitty gritty of Thanet news. To be honest, I have lived in Thanet most of my life and there isn’t much that goes on that should be news worthy, but the Southern folk are an odd bunch and we like to know about the local news, as it makes us feel involved.

For the two weeks that I was on experience, I was allowed to create minor news features and nibs and write a longish article on a girl who had excelled at school. Everyone has to start somewhere.

It was only a few weeks before that, that I had a sudden niggle in my mind that I would quite like to try my hand at Journalism, and at the time I was aiming towards Fashion Journalism, however now, that is all starting to change and I would like to take a different route, although I am not quite sure what that route is.

Anyway, after my two weeks of sitting in an office, writing up letters to go into the paper and articles on what’s happening or happened in Thanet, I started to get the bug. I was hooked on it, as if it was a drug, I wanted to keep writing, I wanted to go out a scrape information from the very depths, research, interview.

And so that was when I was really inspired to go into Journalism, and study it at degree level so that I could pursue my dream. It has been very tough to say the least and I’m sure I am not the only one who was ready to throw in the towel, but I have stuck at it and will stick it, so that my desire to write grows stronger and not less.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

