I’m Emily Wonford, reporting on the sexual health of students at Coventry University.

Does what it says on the tin.

Next up, the television part of this module. We had this, this term and a year late. So thrown in at the deep end, before we all went off to be merry for Christmas we got taught for a few hours how to use the cameras and upload the footage.. Mmm lots of help, bearing in mind I forgot a lot of it by the time it came around to it. Picked it up quite easily though, I guess. I had loads of fun with this module, until it came to editing, trying to place music with it, trying to save it, saving it in the wrong format and being told I let the group down because I wasn’t ‘serious’ enough…. Nag a load of Uni students that they must wrap their willies and play it safe in the most serious way and they will just switch off. Trust me, I know. Make it a little light-hearted makes it more serious. Well, I missed that brief.

I had a huge amount of fun with this practice,  a pain in the ass like everything else (nothing about this course ever goes smoothly for me) but I was excited about it at first if that counts for anything?

Say hello to Camera person (to be politically correct). I like playing camera, I didn’t appreciate being in front of it though. If I were to go into this as a profession, I’m pretty sure I’d enjoy the production part, running around and filming. I am annoyed at myself that I wasn’t there for every member of the group, but at times we all drifted apart to do our packages and some people teamed up together, and a lot of filming was done at times when others weren’t available.  I think we got together as a well gelled group when it mattered most.

A group of 6 got together to produce the magazine show based on the health of students at Cov Uni, pre-drinking, drinking, sex, stress, exercise and diet. 6 became 5 when an executive decision was made to ask someone to leave the group as we were concerned that they weren’t pulling their weight. This was hard on the group at the beginning, not that we had lost any work, but realising that this is what does happen in the professional world when people don’t contribute. We came together for this, quite a strong group but with opposing ideas on how to deal with it. 

I chose sexual health because I thought I could portray the seriousness of it whilst being myself. Clearly this didn’t work brilliantly, and I regret that. But what I produced I was pleased with. It was of a quality I didn’t think I could achieve. My topic was relevant, and I chose subjects that opposed each other brilliantly. A Christian Virgin and someone not that in the slightest. It gave the piece a colourful light on sex and sexual health. 

I knew both of the subjects well, so interviewing wasn’t hard, instead it was a jolly laid back affair that I got out of the way relatively early in the project so that I had more time to research figures and statistics. One week attempting to contact local gp’s and such lead to a failure on this. Online statistics were only as recent as 2009 and I thought this a bit out-dated, since I found out that in 2011 abortion rates were up and teenage pregnancies were down. That’d been handy. Hindsight.

Esprit d’escalier! I wish I had remembered how to save the files properly and set up the editing piece in the correct format, because some poor person in my group at the end had to sit there for another hour re-rendering after we re-formatted the package so that it didn’t look funny – still didn’t work. Boo.

Another week, close to the deadline I had to be part of the re-filming process for a member of the group due to audio and video footage not syncing together. A set-back that we could have done without, as that was the week I wanted to get all my intro’s sorted. Instead we ‘2 birds, 1 stone’ and all that and did everything in one. There was a member of the group that I have a really strong relationship with and we worked brilliantly together. Not just out on the field doing work, but we support each other in the editing room and when everything gets too stressful. This week was a prime example of that.  

The final week was the absolute worst. This was when I wanted to complete everything but nooo that wasn’t going to happen now was it. I wanted one day to just go the way I wanted. First it wasn’t saving, then it wasn’t having enough disk space and then it was that ol’ chestnut of copyright. I wanted Martin Solveig’s “Hello” and Hypercrush’s ” Sex and drugs, to play underneath the interviews to add a bit of charm and spice to the atmosphere of the video. Nope. I e-mailed both artists and without a response (and making the decision on these songs at such short notice) I had to sulk, whine and moan to everyone and take them out. So I was left with a music-less, informative, package. Blah. But I have saved the original because I am that damn proud of it. Tummy fuzzy proud. 

So many hours were spent on this module and there were times where I wanted to give up, but we all picked each other up from the dull times and helped each other along. I guess that’s what real teamwork is. And I am glad I was a part of it.

The only reading that was used for this piece was for my reflection was Television Journalism: Journalism Studies, by Stephen Cushion. This was really handy and I wished that I had come across it earlier because I think it would have been really helpful when we got stuck with editing and filming!  

Leave a Reply

